Happy Bloomsday: The Lessons I Learned From James Joyce

Joyce’s work is so dense and so expansive that I would be hard pressed to write all of the lessons to be learned from it. But these few stick in my mind.

Everybody have a great day, and remember:

Every life is in many days, day after day. We walk through ourselves, meeting robbers, ghosts, giants, old men, young men, wives, widows, brothers-in-love. But always meeting ourselves.

A Wallpaper Life

joyce

I will tell you what I will do and what I will not do. I will not serve that in which I no longer believe, whether it calls itself my home, my fatherland, or my church: and I will try to express myself in some mode of life or art as freely as I can and as wholly as I can, using for my defense the only arms I allow myself to use — silence, exile, and cunning

As referenced by the title of this post, today I would like to celebrate one of my favorite authors of all time, James Joyce.

Today is his day. The day in which Leopold Bloom, the main protagonist from Ulysses, found his way around Dublin in 1904. The longest day in literature, a day that Joyce used for his canvas, teaching us about ourselves and our history in a way that few authors have…

View original post 436 more words

Leave a Reply

