Conquering Finnegans Wake

A Wallpaper Life

cover

I finished James Joyce’s Finnegans Wake. The Wake had been haunting me for a few years now. I had first discovered in on Listverse’s article about the most difficult literary works every written. Since that point I had constantly researched it, read articles about it and looked up quotes from its pages. Reviews on Amazon and Goodreads dissuaded me from picking up the Wake but the reputation it had as being nearly unreadable kept me constantly anticipating reading it. I knew that one day my curiosity would get the best of me. And it did.

Last week I finished reading Finnegans Wake. The novel lived up to everything I thought it would. It was difficult, opaque, beautiful, inspiring and at times utterly baffling. But you know what? I absolutely loved it. In fact, Finnegans Wake may be one of my favorite books that I have ever read.

But why?

When you…

View original post 1,853 more words

Leave a Reply

